INDIAN INSTITUTE OF PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION Karnataka Regional Branch Bengaluru

Report of Collaborative National Seminar

The **Karnataka Regional Branch** of the Indian Institute of Public Administration, in collaboration with the **Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE-Bengaluru)** and the **Institute for Social and Economic Change** organized a two-day National Seminar on "*SUSTAINITI-2024*: Sustainable Development in an Unequal World – Public Policy Paths" on 5-6 June 2024 at the MAHE-Bengaluru campus.

The Inaugural Address was delivered by Prof. Madhu Veeraraghavan, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, MAHE-BLR. The Keynote Address was delivered by Prof. M.V. Nadkarni, Hon. Visiting Professor, ISEC, Bengaluru. The Chief Guest was Prof. D. Rajasekhar, Director, ISEC. Mr. S. Ramanathan, IAS (Retd.), Chairman-Emeritus of IIPA-KRB released three books on the occasion. A Memorandum of Understanding between MAHE-BLR and the Karnataka Regional Branch of IIPA was signed on the occasion, Mr. T.M. Vijay Bhaskar, IAS (Retd.), Chairman of the Branch presided over the inaugural session. Prof. Anil Kumar, Head of the Centre for Study of Political Institutions, Governance and Development, ISEC presented an overview of the seminar.

Highlights of the two-day **National Seminar** were the following:

- Panel Discussions were held on (1) Sustainability from Different Perspectives and
 Interlinking Data and Communication in Public Policy-Making for Sustainable Development'.
- 2. About **35 papers** were presented in **ten Technical Sessions** dealing with different dimensions of sustainability and Sustainable Development.
- 3. A 'Sustainiti Oath" was taken on World Environment Day (5th June 2024); and
- 4. A Campus Walk was coordinated by the Rewilding Team which highlighted the various initiatives being taken to making the MAHE-BLR campus a green and ecofriendly one.

The **Valedictory Address** was delivered by **Dr. A. Ravindra,** IAS (Retd.), Chairman, Centre for Sustainable Development, Bengaluru. **Mr. T.M. Vijay Bhaskar**, IAS (Retd.), Chairman of IIPA-KRB presided over the valedictory session. **Dr. Harini Santhanam**, Head, Department of Public Policy, MAHE-BLR proposed a Vote of Thanks.

Pic below shows (from R to L) **Prof. D. Rajasekhar**, Director, ISEC; **Prof. Madhu Veeraraghavan**, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, MAHE-BLR; **Mr. T.M. Vijay Bhaskar**, IAS (Retd.), Chairman, Karnataka Regional Branch, IIPA; **Prof. M.V. Nadkarni**, Hon. Visiting Professor, ISEC and **Dr. Harini Santhanam**, Head, Dept. of Public Policy, MAHE-BLR.

