## INDIAN INSTITUTE OF PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION Karnataka Regional Branch

Bengaluru

# Report of 2<sup>nd</sup> Annual Essay Competition Prize Distribution Ceremony and Panel Discussion on "Karnataka's Approach to Sustainable Development: Policies and Challenges"

On the occasion of **Constitution Day**, November 26, 2024, Centre for Research in Social Sciences and Education, **JAIN** (**Deemed-to-be**) **University**, in collaboration with **Karnataka Regional Branch of the Indian Institute of Public Administration**, hosted a significant event marking the **2**<sup>nd</sup> **Annual Essay Competition Prize Distribution ceremony**, alongside a thought-provoking **Panel Discussion** on *Karnataka's Approach to Sustainable Development: Policies and Challenges*. The event was graced by **Shri. S. Ramananthan**, IAS (Retd.), Chairman Emeritus of IIPA-KRB, **Shri. T.M Vijay Bhaskar**, IAS (Retd.), Chairperson, IIPA-KRB, and **Prof.** (**Dr.) Raj Singh**, Vice-Chancellor JAIN (Deemed-to-be University). **Dr. D. Jeevan Kumar**, Secretary, **Prof. Madhwaraj**, Treasurer and **Dr. Thayyil Sethumadhavan**, EC member of IIPA-KRB, were among those present on the occasion.

The **Panel Discussion** emerged as the most engaging and thought-provoking segment of the day, bringing together distinguished experts to share their insights on Karnataka's unique approach to Sustainable Development. The Panelists - **Shri T. M. Vijay Bhaskar,** IAS (Retd.), Chairperson, IIPA-KRB, **Dr. Uma Mahadevan**, IAS, Additional Chief Secretary, Government of Karnataka (online), **Dr. Vishal R.,** IAS, Secretary to Government of Karnataka, Fiscal Reforms (online) and **Dr. Mukund Raj,** Advisor, NABARD Consultancy Services - addressed a range of interconnected issues the State faces in achieving a balance between development and sustainability.

The Prize Winners of the **2**<sup>nd</sup> **Annual Essay Competition** on the theme, **Karnataka's Approach to Sustainable Development: Policies and Challenges** are as follows:

#### 1. First Prize (English): Mr. Sosthene Dushimimana

B.Tech., Aerospace Engineering JAIN (Deemed-to-be University), Bengaluru

#### 2. First Prize (Kannada): Ms. Thejaswini

B.A., Maharani College of Arts for Women University of Mysore, Mysore

#### 3. Second Prize (English): Ms. Arshiya Malviya

B.A. Communication, Media and Psychology Christ (Deemed-to-be University), Bengaluru

### 4. Second Prize (English): Ms. Divya Lakshmi A R

B.B.A., Centre for Management Studies, JAIN (Deemed-to-be University), Bengaluru

#### 5. Third Prize (English): Ms. Shreeya U

BA.LLB (Law), Soundarya College of Law, Bengaluru.

Below: The First Prize Winner in English Mr. Sosthene Dushmimana (L) and the First Prize winner in Kannada, Ms. Thejaswini (R) are seen receiving their awards.



